Wage and Hour Violations
Both federal and state law require employers to pay employees the minimum wage, and require employers to pay covered, non-exempt employees overtime pay for work in excess of 40 hours per workweek.
The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”) establishes minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping and youth employment standards affecting employees in the private sector as well as federal, state and local governments.
Among other things, the FLSA requires employers to compensate covered, non-exempt employees overtime pay of one-and-one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay.
Likewise, the New Jersey Wage and Hour Law establishes the minimum wage level and overtime pay for employees to safeguard their health, efficiency and well-being, and to provide compensation commensurate with the value of services rendered.
Like the FLSA, the New Jersey Wage and Hour Law requires the payment of overtime to non-exempt employees for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours per workweek. In addition, the New Jersey Wage Payment Law allows employees to recover monies due to them for services rendered as a result of their employment relationship, such as unpaid compensation or commissions.
The Law Office of Frank A. Custode, LLC represents employees in disputes involving federal and state wage and hour laws.